Club: Club Deportivo Social y Cultural (CDSC) Cruz Azul
Founded: 1927
City: Mexico City
Stadium: Estadio Azul
Manager: Enrique Meza
Honors: CONCACAF Champions Cup 5 - (1969, 1970, 1971, 1996, 1997); Mexican league - 8 (1968-69, 1970, 1971-72, 1972-73, 1973-74, 1978-79, 1979-80, Invierno 1997); Mexican cup - 2 (1968-69, 1996-97).
Official Web site:

Cruz Azul is one of the most successful clubs in Mexico. Its eight league titles trail only fellow powerhouses Guadalajara (11), Club America (10) and Toluca (nine). Los Cementeros is also the only Mexican squad to reach the finals of the Copa Libertadores when it lost on penalties to Argentine giants Boca Juniors in 2001. The club was founded as an amateur team by workers of the cement company Cemento Cruz Azul in 1925. Some 40 years later, Cruz Azul was promoted to the Primera Division, where it finished eighth. Just four years later, though, the club won its first league title. Under the direction of Raúl Cárdenas, the club enjoyed its most prosperous time in the 1970s, winning six more league titles, earning them the nickname La Máquina. Despite its worst league finish in club history, Cruz Azul reached the final of the 2008-09 CONCACAF Champions League, losing to fellow Mexican side Atlante. After years of playing at Estadio Azteca, Cruz Azul's home is Estadio Azul, but the team is planning construction of a new 38,418-seat stadium, Nuevo Estadio Azul, which will be located on same location of the current stadium after it is demolished in 2010.