The 24 berths in the 2011-2012 CONCACAF Champions League field are divided among the three sub-regions of the confederation, with 12 reserved for Central America, nine for North America, and three for the Caribbean.

The United States and Mexico received fourth berths each: the MLS regular season champion (Supporters' Shield winner) and MLS Cup winner, both of which are placed automatically into the Group Stage, and the U.S. Open Cup winner and MLS Cup runner-up.

Mexico also is granted four berths. Apertura and Clausura champions are entered directly into the Group Stage while the runners-up are put into the Preliminary Round.
Canada determines it champion and Preliminary Round berth through the Nutrilite Canadian Championship.

The Caribbean is allotted three berths and qualifies its teams in the CFU Club Champions Cup.

The remainder and bulk of the berths are reserved for Central America, with two berths allocated to Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Panama, and one each for Belize and Nicaragua.

North America (9)
United States (4):
Los Angeles Galaxy, Seattle Sounders, Colorado Rapids, FC Dallas
Mexico (4): Monterrey, Santos Laguna, Pumas UNAM, Morelia
Canada (1): Toronto FC

Caribbean (3)
CFU Club Champions Cup (3): Puerto Rico Islanders (PUR), Tempete FC (HAI), Alpha United (GUY)

Central America (12)
Costa Rica (2): Alajuelense, Herediano
El Salvador (2): Isidro Metapan, Alianza FC
Guatemala (2): Comunicaciones, Municipal
Honduras (3): Real Espana, Motagua, Olimpia@
Nicaragua (1): Real Esteli
Panama (2): Tauro FC, San Francisco

*Teams in italics qualified automatically for Group Stage
@Berth reallocated from Belize