The field for the 2010-2011 CONCACAF Champions League began to fill on September 2 when the Seattle Sounders beat D.C. United 2-1 at Washington's RFK Stadium to win the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup and claim the first berth in the 24-team field.

The United States receives three other berths: the MLS regular season champion (Supporters' Shield winner) and MLS Cup winner, both of which are placed automatically into the Group Stage, and the MLS Cup runner-up.

Mexico also is granted four berths. Apertura and Clausura champions are entered directly into the Group Stage while the runners-up are put into the Preliminary Round.

Canada determines it champion and Preliminary Round berth through the Nutrilite Canadian Championship.

The Caribbean is allotted three berths and qualifies its teams in the CFU Club Champions Cup.

The remainder and bulk of the berths are reserved for Central America, with two berths allocated to Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Panama, and one each for Belize and Nicaragua.

North America (9)
United States (4):
Columbus Crew, Real Salt Lake, Los Angeles Galaxy, Seattle Sounders
Mexico (4): Monterrey, Toluca, Cruz Azul, Santos
Canada (1): Toronto FC

Caribbean (3)
CFU Club Champions Cup (3):
Puerto Rico Islanders (PUR), Joe Public (TRI), San Juan Jabloteh (TRI)

Central America (12)
Costa Rica (2):
Saprissa, Brujas
El Salvador (2): CD FAS, Metapan
Guatemala (2): Municipal, Xelaju
Honduras (2): Olimpia, Marathon, Motagua@
Panama (2): Arabe Unido, Tauro, San Francisco#

*Teams in italics qualified automatically for Group Stage
@Berth reallocated from Belize
#Berth reallocated from Nicaragua